A Mexican Fiesta

A Mexican Fiesta

Mexican Fiesta

Spring is a great time to throw a Mexican fiesta and enjoy fresh recipes that are full of flavor! A perfect evening with friends is hanging out on the deck, enjoying the weather and some fun company. I like to keep the décor simple and seasonal. Great woven placemats complement batik napkins and cobalt margarita glasses and pitchers. String lights and lanterns are a great way to set the mood.

In honor of Cinco de Mayo, I created some great recipes that are a twist on Mexican classics. These light and tasty dishes could easily be a week night supper, as well. They incorporate lots of fresh produce and still feel a tad decadent. Top it off with a twist on the classic margarita, a grapefruit version!

Salud!
 

Decor

A Mexican Fiesta

String lights / World Market / www.worldmarket.com / $17

Lantern / Inside Avenue / www.insideavenue.com / $86

Place mat / Pier One / www.pierone.com / $8

Margarita glass / Crate and Barrel / www.crateandbarrel.com / $10

Pitcher / Joss and Main / www.jossandmain.com / $40

Napkin / Juliska / www.juliska.com / $14

Margarita glass / Pier One / www.pierone.com / $8

Pitcher / Pier One / www.pierone.com / $30

Lantern / Smith and Hawken / www.target.com / $25

Napkin set / Pier One / www.pierone.com / $20

Placemat / Deborah Rhodes / www.barneys.com / $28

String lights / Pottery Barn / www.potterybarn.com / $40

String lights / Lamps Plus / www.lampsplus.com / $20

Lantern / Williams Sonoma / www.williamssonoma.com / $195

Margarita glass / Pier One / www.pierone.com / $10

Napkin set / PCH / www.zincdoor.com / $38

String lights / Restoration Hardware / www.restorationhardware.com / $33
 

The Menu

 

Avocado Dip

Serving Size: 8

Ingredients:

4 ripe avocados diced

3 large tomatoes diced

10 green onions sliced thin

3 cloves of garlic minced

1 tablespoon of diced fresh cilantro

1 large can of black olives, drained and sliced thin

1 large can of sliced mushrooms drained

2 small cans of diced green chilis drained

⅓ cup pickled jalapenos diced

¼ cup apple cider vinegar

¼ cup vegetable oil

salt and pepper to taste

Instructions:

Combine all of the diced vegetables in a large bowl.

In a small bowl, whisk together oil and vinegar with garlic and cilantro.

Add salt and pepper to vinaigrette.

Top the salsa with the vinaigrette and put it in the refrigerator to marinate.

Use a slotted spoon to ladle the salsa into serving dish.

Serve with your favorite tortilla chips.
 

Black Bean Soup

Serving Size: 8

Ingredients:

2 cans black beans

1 box of vegetable stock

1 red onion

2 bell peppers

2 cloves of garlic

2 teaspoons chili powder

2 teaspoons cumin

sour cream

1 cup finely grated extra sharp cheddar cheese

fresh cilantro

Instructions:

Chop the onion, pepper, and garlic.

Sauté in a the vegetables in large, deep pan with olive oil until the onion is translucent.

Add the vegetable broth, black beans, chili powder and cumin.

Let the soup cook on medium for 20 minutes, stirring frequently.

Ladel the soup into bowls and garnish it with cheddar, sour cream and cilantro.
 

Zucchini Enchiladas

Serving Size: 8 Enchiladas

8 whole wheat tortillas

2 small zucchini

2 small yellow squash

2 poblano peppers

1 large red onion

2 cloves garlic

1 tablespoon olive oil

2 cans green enchilada sauce

2 cups shredded sharp cheddar cheese

sour cream

1 tablespoon chili powder

Instructions:

Chop the zucchini, squash, peppers and onion into bite sized pieces.

Mince the garlic.

Sauté the vegetables in garlic and oil until they are tender.

Add the chili powder and mix well.

Spread a thin layer of enchilada sauce in a medium baking pan.

Fill each tortilla with mix and line them up in the pan.

Top the dish with enchilada sauce and cheddar.

Bake the enchiladas in a 350 degree oven for 20 minutes.

Garnish them with sour cream and serve.
 

Grapefruit Margaritas

Serving Size: 4

Ingredients:

1 quart ruby red grapefruit juice

4 ounces Cointreau

8 ounces gold Patron tequila

Instructions:

Pour the ingredients in a shaker.

Shake ingredients with ice.

Strain into four frosted margarita glasses.

Garnish with an orange twist.